GF + CELIAC RESOURCES

Living a gluten-free lifestyle

What is gluten?

Gluten is a mixture of two proteins called gliadin and glutenin that is found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and a cross between wheat and rye called triticale. Oats can also be harmful due to cross contamination when farms rotate their oat crop with other crops such as barley. When someone has a sensitivity, intolerance, or allergy to gluten, it can trigger skin, respiratory, or gastrointestinal reactions. For those living with celiac disease, consuming gluten creates an immune response causing damage within the intestines, preventing them from absorbing vital nutrients. 
Aside from food, gluten can also be found in a number of other types of products:

  • Pet Food
  • Cosmetics
  • Medicine
  • Makeup and Lotion
  • Shampoo, Conditioner and Soap
  • Sunscreen

Living a gluten-free lifestyle means eliminating all products containing and derived from wheat, barley, and rye from your diet. Transitioning to a gluten-free diet may seem overwhelming at first but gaining the knowledge of how you can replace the ingredients you are used to as opposed to focusing on what you cannot have any more will make it a much easier process.

At Bakery On Main, we are GFCO certified, meaning that we are monitored by a third party with standards twice as strict as the Federal regulations for gluten-free products, ensuring that no gluten or gluten derivatives ever enter our production facility.

Gluten–Free Alternatives

If gluten is no longer part of your diet, here are a variety of alternative ingredients that you can use:

  • Almond Meal Flour
  • Amaranth
  • Brown Rice
  • White Rice
  • Wild Rice
  • Buckwheat
  • Coconut Flour
  • Corn
  • Cornstarch
  • Guar Gum
  • Gram
  • Millet
  • Pea Flour
  • Potato Flour
  • Potatoes
  • Quinoa
  • Chia
  • Flax
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soya
  • Soy Flour
  • Tapioca
  • Teff